Saturday, December 21, 2013

Book Tour and Giveaway: Lichgates by S.M. Boyce

Lichgates

Series: The Grimoire Saga #1

Author: S.M. Boyce

Publication Date: October 15th 2011

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Available From:

Synopsis

Fans of The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and Eragon will enjoy this contemporary remix of the classic epic fantasy genre.

—————-

Kara Magari is about to discover a beautiful world full of terrifying things—Ourea.

Kara, a college student still reeling from her mother’s recent death, has no idea the hidden world of Ourea even exists until a freak storm traps her in a sunken library. With no way out, she opens an ancient book of magic called the Grimoire and unwittingly becomes its master, which means Kara now wields the cursed book’s untamed power. Discovered by Ourea’s royalty, she becomes an unwilling pawn in a generations-old conflict—a war intensified by her arrival. In this world of chilling creatures and betrayal, Kara shouldn’t trust anyone… but she’s being hunted and can’t survive on her own. She drops her guard when Braeden, a native soldier with a dark secret, vows to keep her safe. And though she doesn’t know it, her growing attraction to him may just be her undoing.

For twelve years, Braeden Drakonin has lived a lie. The Grimoire is his one chance at redemption, and it lands in his lap when Kara Magari comes into his life. Though he begins to care for this human girl, there is something he wants more. He wants the Grimoire.

Welcome to Ourea, where only the cunning survive.

Review

When I read the Goodreads synopsis for this book, I instantly knew that it was going to have big shoes to fill by the comparison to The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and Eragon. Those are some powerful fantasy books that take the cake when compared to anything else. But I was interested to read Lichgates to see what it was all about. I was not disappointed in the least.

The first thing that caught my attention and pulled me into this book was the wonderful description and detail that Boyce put into this story. It's easy to tell that she wanted her readers to be able to be fully emersed in this new world she created. It's very visual, and that is one big thing that I like for my stories. I have to be able to connect with the world that the characters are living in and operating in, or else it doesn't work.

The dialogue is also very good. It's smart and funny and perfect for the characters who are speaking. I would have liked a little more talking, honestly, but it's not a major complaint. The characters were very well-rounded, with interesting personal stories. Each character is there for a reason.

The story, along with the world and the characters, is exciting and well-done. Fantasy readers will just eat this story up. It's hard to start it and not finish it the same day. I would suggest it to anyone who likes Fantasy, Young Adult, or just a good story that takes place in a whole, new, exciting world.

Rating

 stars


About the Author

International Amazon Bestseller. Fantasy Author. Twitter addict. Book Blogger. Geek. Sarcastic. Gooey. Odd. Author of the action-packed Grimoire Saga.

S.M. Boyce is a novelist who loves ghosts, magic, and spooky things. She prefers loose-leaf tea, reads far too many books, and is always cold. She’s married to her soul mate and couldn’t be happier. Her B.A. in Creative Writing qualifies her to serve you french fries.

Boyce likes to update her blog a few times each week so that you have something to wake you up in the morning.

Author Links

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Xpresso Book Tours