Monday, September 1, 2014

AVAILABLE ON AMAZON AND AMAZON KINDLE--- A Thousand Years by Brigitte Ann Thomas - GIVEAWAY

cover

A Thousand Years

Author: Brigitte Ann Thomas

Series: Soulmates #1

Genre: Paranormal, romance, contemporary

Expected Pub. Date: Mid-late August to Early September

Goodreads

Synopsis

A thousand years he's waited - since the night he lost everything he held dear - to have her back in his life. His one true love, soul mate. He felt it the second she came back into the world.

On the night of her twenty-first birthday, Eadric Bishop is forced to intervene in her life against his wishes when a group of Soulless demons try to kidnap and kill her. It soon becomes clear that something bigger is going on. There's a plot to take out both him and the one he loves. If he can save her.

Anabell Todd was a normal, introverted college student when Eadric waltzed into her life and literally swept her off her feet - a demon with supernaturally good looks and the idea that she's his long lost soul mate. She's more than inclined to run away, but she soon realizes the threat is real. Eadric is her only salvation - and she is his.

Bigger things are after them than they know. When the tables suddenly get turned, who ends up saving who?

Purchase Links

About the Author

Brigitte is in her early twenties. She has a bachelors of English with an emphasis in creative writing from the University of Tennessee. She has been writing fiction since the age of ten and poetry since the age of twelve. She loves both very much and hopes to pursue both as a full-time job. Currently, she is a loving wife and a stay at home puppy mom to a wonderful one year old German shepherd/Belgian shepherd mix and a two year old pug/chihuahua/weiner dog mix. She also writes in her spare time - or as time as she can manage.

Author Links



Goodreads Book Giveaway

A Thousand Years by Brigitte Ann Thomas

A Thousand Years

by Brigitte Ann Thomas

Giveaway ends September 30, 2014.

See the giveaway details at Goodreads.

Enter to win

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Cover Reveal: A Thousand Years by Brigitte Ann Thomas

 photo CoverReveal.jpg
cover

A Thousand Years

Author: Brigitte Ann Thomas

Series: Soulmates #1

Genre: Paranormal, romance, contemporary

Expected Pub. Date: Mid-late August to Early September

Goodreads

Synopsis

A thousand years he's waited - since the night he lost everything he held dear - to have her back in his life. His one true love, soul mate. He felt it the second she came back into the world.

On the night of her twenty-first birthday, Eadric Bishop is forced to intervene in her life against his wishes when a group of Soulless demons try to kidnap and kill her. It soon becomes clear that something bigger is going on. There's a plot to take out both him and the one he loves. If he can save her.

Anabell Todd was a normal, introverted college student when Eadric waltzed into her life and literally swept her off her feet - a demon with supernaturally good looks and the idea that she's his long lost soul mate. She's more than inclined to run away, but she soon realizes the threat is real. Eadric is her only salvation - and she is his.

Bigger things are after them than they know. When the tables suddenly get turned, who ends up saving who?

About the Author

Brigitte is in her early twenties. She has a bachelors of English with an emphasis in creative writing from the University of Tennessee. She has been writing fiction since the age of ten and poetry since the age of twelve. She loves both very much and hopes to pursue both as a full-time job. Currently, she is a loving wife and a stay at home puppy mom to a wonderful one year old German shepherd/Belgian shepherd mix and a two year old pug/chihuahua/weiner dog mix. She also writes in her spare time - or as time as she can manage.

Author Links

Friday, March 28, 2014

Cover Reveal: Paradox by Kelly Carrero

 photo CoverReveal.jpg
cover

Paradox

Author: Kelly Carrero

Series: Unearthly Paradox #1

Publication Date: April 2014

Genre: Romance, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult

Goodreads

Synopsis

Never in a million years would I ever fall for the son of a drug lord. Or so I thought until I moved two doors down from Jett.

Zara thought her life was over when she had to move just days before graduation. The situation went from bad to horrible, when she discovers just how cruel the kids at her new school can be.

When Zara is set up by some bullies and almost raped, she somehow gets free, but she’s haunted by the eyes of the one she believes rescued her.

Later, bad boy Jett is only too willing to step in and help. In fact, Zara can’t seem to get rid of him or his family, who all seem to have a strange obsession with her.

Will letting down her guard be one of the biggest mistakes of her life, or is Zara destined to become a part of his life, an existence that no human could ever understand?


The Author

Kelly Carrero

Author Links

Xpresso Book Tours

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Book Tour and Giveaway: The Romeo Club by Rebekah Purdy

The Romeo Club

Author: Rebekah L Purdy

Publication Date: 03/25/14

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary romance

Available From:

Synopsis

THE ROMEO CLUB is Hitch meets The Secret of My Success.

What happens when you agree to help your brother “de-nerdify” so he can catch the attention of the popular Chloe Anders, and to everyone's surprise, he actually lands her?

And what if his equally geeky friends come running with girl wish lists of their own, offering money for your services?

Well, if you’re sixteen-year-old, Delyla Denson, then you start The Romeo Club. A secret club where she’ll teach these guys how talk, act, and be cool around girls. It’s a win-win situation.

She’ll get enough money for the awesome prom dress she’s had her eye on, and the guys, well, they’ll get dates and maybe learn how to do something other than beat the next level on their video games.

There are only two problems with this plan. One, her quarterback/track star boyfriend is getting jealous of how much time she’s spending away from him and decides to try and figure out what’s going on. And two, Delyla is kind of falling for her brother’s BFF, Trey who she’s been hanging out with a lot more. And who thanks to her help, has caught the attention of the beautiful, perfect, and popular, Portia Rickard. With Portia and Trey heating up, Delyla realizes that maybe the person she’s meant to be with has been in front of her all this time.

But falling for Trey means she’ll have to take drastic measures including sabotage, with a capital S.

Review

I knew when I read the description of this book that it was going to be an interesting, entertaining read. I love nerdy male characters, I love make-overs, and I love when things come together in a way that people don't see coming. It didn't take me long to read it. It was a quick read, but a good read. I couldn't put it down. I wanted to keep reading on to see what happened with the guys and their dates and what happened with Delyla and her other relationships as her part with the Romeo Club started taking over more of her life than her boyfriend would like.

The nerdy guys really help to bring out Delyla's true character. Before they came in, she came off a little shallow. After, though,she was definitely a stronger character for it. She put so much of her time in the guys (yes, it was for money for a prom dress. I think it became more to her than just a money making deal. She began to have a lot invested in seeing each of the guys succeed with the girls they've been dreaming of.

Meanwhile, her own relationship with her boyfriend is suffering. Her best friend starts pointing out a few weaknesses in their happy union, and things start becoming all too clear. Not to mention watching Trey bloom into a brand new, self-confident guy - they have so much in common that she can't help but see him in a new light.

I enjoyed every page of it. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a light-hearted read, a good YA romance, or even a book that they can read in one sitting. It's worth it.

Rating

4 stars


About the Author

Rebekah Purdy grew up in Michigan, where she spent many late nights armed with a good book and a flashlight. When not hiding at her computer and getting lost in her stories, she enjoys reading, singing, soccer, swimming, football, camping, playing video games and hanging out with her kids. She loves the unexplainable like Bigfoot, the Dogman, and the Loch Ness Monster (lots of good story material)! She admits to still having all the books she bought throughout her childhood and teen years, and she may or may not have an obsession with anything chocolate…

Author Links

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

YA Bound Book Tours

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Review: Allegiant by Veronia Roth

Allegiant

Series: Divergent #3

Author: Veronica Roth

Synopsis

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Told from a riveting dual perspective, Allegiant, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the Divergent series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

Review

I went into this book very, very, very apprehensively. Since it took me a little while to get my hand on the book, I had already heard some of the buzz around it, and a lot of people were very unhappy with the ending of the book. I loved the first one so much, the second one a little less than the first, so I was afraid I would all together hate the third installment. As it is, though, I don’t. And I am glad that I didn’t end up hating it. It would have been a devastating end to a great trilogy.

Insurgent ended with a big revelation that I don’t think anyone in world saw coming. It definitely knocked me for a loop. The worst part about it was that we had to wait for another book to come out to explain it. Tris, Tobias, and the rest of their Divergent (and non-divergent) friends come to find out that the world is not what they had been led to believe. They had been deceived for generations with no knowledge of how the world really worked. I was really unsure of how I felt about it because I was getting a little tire of Roth’s “here’s how the world is, no wait, here’s how thing really are…wait…wait..wait, just kidding. Now, let’s change things one last time.” It was a little unsettling to feel like I never knew what was really real.

The third and final installment had a lot to live up to. In the last book, the readers always want everything wrapped up nicely. We want to know what happened to every single character and what is coming next for them and their world. Roth did a good job doing so.

There were some tragically sad moments that left me clutching tissues and screaming at the universe for letting it happen (Maybe cursing Roth just a little, but it’s the mark of a good author), but there were some wonderfully wonderful moments in there too. Roth had a good balance in this installment. I will say, I wish there was a little more, because I always want a clearer ending – and a little more about the characters’ lives after.

I would definitely suggest it to anyone looking for a good read – as long as they read the first two first. (:

Rating

 stars


Monday, February 24, 2014

Book Blitz and Giveaway: Of Sea and Stone by Kate Avery Ellison


Of Sea and Stone

Author: Kate Avery Ellison

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Publication Date: February 2014

Synopsis

All her life, clever Aemi has been a slave in the Village of the Rocks, a place where the sea and sky meet. She’s heard the stories about the fabled People of the Sea, a people who possess unimaginable technology who live below the waves in the dark, secret places of the ocean. But she never dreamed those stories were true.

When a ship emerges from the ocean and men burn her village, Aemi is captured, and enslaved below the waves in Itlantis, a world filled with ancient cities of glass and metal, floating gardens, and wondrous devices that seem to work magic. To make matters worse, her village nemesis, the stuck-up mayor’s son Nol, was captured with her, and they are made servants in the same household beneath the sea.

Desperate to be free, Aemi plots her escape, even going so far as to work with Nol. But the sea holds more secrets than she realizes, and escape might not be as simple as leaving…

Excerpt

The broad stone ground of the Training Rock was warm and smooth beneath my bare feet. A salt-scented wind teased the tendrils of hair escaping from beneath my hood. I straightened my spine and lifted my chin as if I belonged as I approached the group of boys and young men, who stood in a haphazard line before the target of wood.

I took my place at the end of the line.

The smell of salt filled the air. Gulls screamed overhead as the first boy drew back his arm and threw his spear. It glanced off the target and clattered on the rock. His face creased with disgust, and he turned away. The second boy threw, and the tip of his spear embedded itself in the corner of the target.

I was better at throwing than any of these boys. I’d always been good at it, better than anyone else my age when I was small enough to swim in the shallows with the free children and sleep in my mother’s arms at night. My mother had beamed with pride to see me throw, and so I continued to hone my skill even after she was gone. Sometimes I went out to the edge of the rocks that formed a ring around the sea like a circle of stone arms, and I caught fish to put on the fire so Nealla and I could eat more than the meager food we were provided for our meals. I was better than all of them, but being a girl banned me from participating in the competition.

At the front of the line stood Nol, the oldest in the competition and the favorite of the crowd. He cast a glance my way, but didn’t look long. I exhaled as he turned his head away.

One by one, the boys threw their spears. They were still learning, and few were good yet. The aim of a fisherman was impeccable, once he’d mastered the art, but these were just boys.

I swallowed as the boy beside me took his turn, and then it was mine. I stepped forward and hefted my spear. The weight was familiar in my hand. I inhaled, squinted at the target, and threw.

The spear buried itself at the edge of the middle circle. A few of the boys cried out in appreciation. Sweat broke out across my back.

I hadn’t meant to throw quite so well.

Nol turned his head again to look at me. He wasn’t stupid, even if he was infuriating. He’d seen Kit throw before.

I held my breath, and he looked away.

Those who had struck the target gathered their spears and tried again. There were only a few of us, and the number rapidly dwindled. I threw poorly, but my spear seemed to swerve to meet the target against my will, and the rest of the boys threw with the skill of drunken monkeys. Finally, only Nol and I were left.

My heart drummed in my chest. I didn’t dare look at Nol or the crowd.

“You’ve improved, Kit,” Nol said as he passed me to retrieve his spear.

It was clear by the way he strode toward the target that he thought victory was assured for him. He barely spared me a glance as he drew back his arm to throw.

The crowd waited, breathless.

Nol threw first. His spear struck the inner circle of the target, and he straightened, pleased. I could tell by his posture that he thought he’d won. The necklace of shell he always wore tinkled faintly as he turned to me. He yanked off his mask, and his expression was triumphant.

“Your turn.”

I drew my arm back and took aim. I heard the rush of the sea behind me, the cry of gulls above me, and the hiss of my breath over my teeth as I threw. Sea and gulls and breath combined to make music. I shut my eyes and threw.

My spear hit the mark and quivered.

It had struck closer to the center.

The boys roared in approval and swarmed around me. Nol’s jaw tightened, and he shot a glance toward the crowd. I saw his father, the mayor, frowning.

I stepped forward to receive my prize. As I passed Nol, suspicion crossed his face. He snatched off my mask, dislodging my hood in the process.

My long hair tumbled down around my shoulders. Wind fanned my face.

I was exposed.

The crowd gasped. Nol let go of me as if he’d been burned.

“It’s Tagatha’s thrall!” someone shouted.

“You deceptive little brat,” the spear master snarled. “Where’s Kitran?”

I ran.

The spear master grabbed for me. His fingers slipped through my hair, giving one painful tug, then the strands ripped from my scalp and I ran faster. I reached the edge of the cliff, dropped Kit’s spear, and jumped.

The rock was hard beneath my feet as I leaped, and then salty air rushed around me, the gulls’ screams filled my ears, and I was falling, falling, falling through air and wind and sunlight. I brought my arms forward right before I entered the water in a perfect dive.

Bubbles exploded across my vision as I hit the water. Blue closed around me, cold and shocking, shutting out the shouts above. My chest skimmed the sandy bottom of the lagoon. Fish shot away, and seaweed snagged my ankles. The rocks of the bay were dark against the orange light of the dying sun.

I swam a ways from the cliff, holding my breath, kicking my legs to propel myself forward.

When my head broke the surface, I heard the spear master shouting after me. I swam away, my arms making sure, even strokes as his threats echoed across the water after me. I had no fear that he would jump in after me. I was one of the strongest swimmers in the village. He couldn’t catch me, and he wouldn’t try.

But I couldn’t swim forever.


About the Author

I live in Georgia with my wonderful husband and two spoiled cats. When I'm not writing, I'm usually catching up on my extensive Netflix queue, reading a book, giggling at something funny online, or trying to convince my husband to give me just ONE bite of whatever he's eating. Learn more about my writing and books at my blog, find teasers for upcoming works on my Facebook page, and subscribe to my new releases newsletter to be notified of new novels as soon as they hit stores!

Author Links


Author Q&A with Kate Avery Ellison

Describe Of Sea and Stone in six words.
Atlantis, steampunk, sunlight, seawater, secrets, romance.
What books have you read and loved lately?
I am almost finished with Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta, and it’s an absolute delight. Witty, immersive, and utterly compelling fantasy that reminds me very much of my beloved Megan Whalen Turner books.
Ice cream or cake?
Ice cream cake, of course! It’s the best of both worlds.
What authors have influenced your writing style the most?
I grew up on a pretty steady diet of mystery, actually, so I feel like classic mystery authors like Agatha Christie had a strong influence on me. When I was a teenager, I started reading fantasy by authors like Robin McKinley, Gail Carson Levine, and Sherwood Smith. The Blue Sword, Ella Enchanted, Crown Duel...I loved those books. I also had a huge love of historical fiction, so Ann Rinaldi, Elizabeth George Speare, and Eloise Jarvis McGraw influenced me a lot as well. As far as more recently-written books that I didn’t grow up reading, I continue to be an awe of fantasy authors Megan Whalen Turner (The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, etc.) and Melina Marchetta (Finnikin of the Rock), dystopian author Suzanne Collins (The Hunger Games), and contemporary young adult authors Lucy Christopher (Stolen) and John Green (A Fault in Our Stars).
If you had to pick a shoe that represented your writing style, what would it be?
Have you seen those canvas shoes where an artist has drawn original artwork on the front and sides and is selling them online? I think my books are like that—in some ways they feel familiar, but they have their own surprises and twists that make them unique.
Who has been the most supportive person in your writing career?
My husband. About two years into trying to get published, I was ready to give up on my stories and get a job doing something tremendously ill-suited for me, like being a secretary (I am a very bad secretary. Very disorganized). He convinced me to give it more time, and he is probably the sole reason I am published today. He is my first reader, my strongest encourager, and my most reliable critic.
Are you working on anything else currently?
Yes! I’m currently hard at work on the second book in the Secrets of Itlantis series, and I’m also working on a few secret projects on the side—one is a more traditional fantasy, another is a post-apocalyptic novel. I hope to have more details about them for my readers very soon.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Xpresso Book Tours

Cover Reveal: Tattoo by Cambria Hebert

 photo CoverReveal.jpg
cover

Tattoo

Author: Cambria Hebert

Series: Take It Off #7

Genre: Contemporary, New Adult

Goodreads

Synopsis

***This is a new adult contemporary novel and contains sexual content and graphic language. It is not intended for young adult readers.***

A tattoo gets them in trouble… He will get them out.

After years of cultivating an undercover identity, Brody West is finally off the case and free to live a life of his own. All that time spent in the company of criminals and killers left him a little jaded… and with an identity crisis. He isn’t sure who he is anymore, or who he wants to be.

To give him time to think, he takes a few days off to go fishing. On his way out of town, he makes a routine stop at the bank and finds himself flirting with the girl behind the counter.

But his flirtation is cut short when criminals burst into the bank and shoot her right before his eyes.

In attempt to administer first aid, Brody reveals a tattoo on his upper arm. A mark that will drag him and the girl into the kind of situation he was trying to get away from. But he can’t walk away because he’s the only thing capable of keeping Taylor alive and bringing down the guys who shot her—guys who are seriously dangerous.



About the Author

Cambria Hebert is the author of the young adult paranormal Heven and Hell series, the new adult Death Escorts series, and the new adult Take it Off series. She loves a caramel latte, hates math and is afraid of chickens (yes, chickens). She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair. She currently lives in North Carolina with her husband and children (both human and furry) where she is plotting her next book. You can find out more about Cambria and her work by visiting http://www.cambriahebert.com

Author Links

Xpresso Book Tours

Friday, February 21, 2014

Review: Addicted to You by Krista and Becca Ritchie

Addicted to You

Series: Addicted #1

Author: Krista and Becca Ritchie

Synopsis

She’s addicted to sex. He’s addicted to booze…the only way out is rock bottom.

No one would suspect shy Lily Calloway’s biggest secret. While everyone is dancing at college bars, Lily stays in the bathroom. To get laid. Her compulsion leads her to one-night stands, steamy hookups and events she shamefully regrets. The only person who knows her secret happens to have one of his own.

Loren Hale’s best friend is his bottle of bourbon. Lily comes at a close second. For three years, they’ve pretended to be in a real relationship, hiding their addictions from their families. They’ve mastered the art of concealing flasks and random guys that filter in and out of their apartment.

But as they sink beneath the weight of their addictions, they cling harder to their destructive relationship and wonder if a life together, for real, is better than a lie. Strangers and family begin to infiltrate their guarded lives, and with new challenges, they realize they may not just be addicted to alcohol and sex.

Their real vice may be each other.

New Adult Romance recommended for readers 18+ for mature content.

Review

**I received this ebook to read and review before I read the second book of the series for a blog tour.**

When I looked at the cover and read the synopsis, I wasn’t sure that I was going to like it. A story about a sexaholic and an alcoholic living together and faking a happy relationship to hide their destructive habits from everyone in their lives. From high profile society families, they fabricated a fake relationship to keep their lifestyles safe. I suspended my tendency to make pre-judgments about books and decide to read it.

Once again I was a little taken aback when I started reading it. Even though I knew what was coming, I was still a little caught off guard, but in the best way. I'm so used to reading main characters who are perfect or who have nearly perfect lives, but here are two very troubled, very imperfect people who are so worried about their families finding out that they hide who they really are from the rest of the world. At least they have each other. From the beginning, I had real hopes for them. Like with most addictions, there was something major lacking in both of their lives, and I think that each was the only person in the world who could help the other. It's a beautiful and horrible thing.

They both go through a lot during the tight confines of this story. Crazy highs and lows so low that they don't know if they're going to make it out alive sometimes. It was a roller coaster that left me holding onto the bar so hard my knuckles were white -just hoping and praying that they would be able to help each other heal the way they were needing. I was left feeling a little whiplashed, but content.

I think this story ended just the way that it was needing to to further the story. I was really glad for the choices the characters made at the end of this novel.

It was a great read.

Rating

 stars


Book Blitz and Giveaway: Getting by ~ A Knight’s Tale I by Claudia Y. Burgoa


Getting by ~ A Knight’s Tale I

Author: Claudia Y. Burgoa

Genre: Contemporary, New Adult

Publication Date: February 18th 2014

Synopsis

When Emma Anderson arrived at San Francisco International Airport, she regretted accepting the distinction of being the maid of honor to Gaby’s—her childhood friend—wedding. It had been years since the last time she set foot in Menlo Park, where her parents had been killed. The rug where she had been shoving her feelings since that day looked bumpier than a camel’s hump. Who could blame her; if she hadn’t been selfish they’d still be around. Ever since that fateful day, Emma has been perfecting the knack of Getting By.

Cade’s wedding in Menlo Park—a city close to San Francisco—might be the perfect place for Jake Knight to shake the memories of his ex, Emma Anderson for good. Single, available women galore for an entire week was the perfect medication, one he intended to take three times a day for an entire week to return to his player days. It was a plan the former spy thought flawless until he came face to face with the maid of honor. Jake’s perfect retreat turns into a flight, fight or hide week of celebrations.

Excerpt

Nights meant sleep and dreams—my archenemies. The Crowley to my Dean Winchester, the Green Goblin to my Spider-man, the list of superheroes and their opposites was long, and so became the analogies I used on a daily basis. My lack of sleep began with Dad and his conditions for me to continue my art. Then came my parents' deaths. Those took a toll on me because I mixed dreams with realities and hopes. Not once did I have a nightmare, all of them were sweet and real. Seeing Mom and Dad on those nights filled my gut with nails, and my head pounded with the reminder that they were gone the next morning. Those had been merely fantasies that would never become a reality.

For the past three months I had been evading sleep and working overtime, over the overtime. The dreams of elevators, trips to sophisticated-secluded spots after a week of work and delicious nights with a man who I was required to forget in order to move on, came daily—nightly. They not only hit me with vengeance, but they came tangled with what humans liked to call hope. The urge to crawl inside myself to avoid the need of his touch, kisses and whatever it was that we had not long ago, consumed me. If I had the powers to morph into an animal, it’d be a sea turtle and I’d stay inside my shell for the next hundred years. Past the stage of melancholy and into the real world, I pushed my body outside of the bed and into the shower, where I got ready to face the Clements and the house next door.


About the Author

Claudia lives in Colorado with her family and three dogs. Two beagles who believe they are human, and a bichon who thinks she’s a beagle. While managing life, she works as a CFO at a small IT Company. She’s a dreamer who enjoys music, laughter and a good story.

Author Links


Author Q&A

Q: Did you use an outline or do you just wing the first draft?
C.B.: I just wing for the first draft. My stories start with an idea and the first words are a scene… any scene. From there I start sculpting it.
Q: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
C.B.: Modern: I’d say it’s a tie between Sophie Kinsella, Meg Cabot and Nora Roberts. Classic… I’d like to think that throughout the years I have learned from Fitzgerald, Hemingway, Cervantes, Wilde, Asimov, Dickens and Austin. Let’s not forget Shakespeare, who wrote about Italy without ever visiting the country.
Q: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
C.B. My friends, and also my social media friends. Members of Facebook I met five years ago and now from twitter, the community of indie authors is amazingly supportive. Not only with my writing, but on a personal level too.
Irene: Why did you start writing, Claudia?
C.B: I read a lot when I was little, since I lived with my grandmother, I was privy to my grandfather’s books. [No one told the adults I needed age appropriate literature] There I was, a six year old reading Cervantes, Dostoyevsky, Marquez and encyclopedias. From there I began writing, trying to imagine a different life—a fun life.
Q: Who designed the cover for Getting By?
C.B. The team at Damonza, they are amazingly talented.
Q: What was the hardest part of writing Getting By?
C.B. Writing Jake’s POV, it is the first time I attempt to write from the male perspective.
K.M.: What can you offer them in the way of information or entertainment?
I like to think I’m bringing witty, neurotic, human characters that, although they want to be perfect they live their lives with flaws like everyone else, yet they handle it the best they can. I try to add some humor to the mix with the promise that’s there’s always a better tomorrow –or at least something nice on the next page.
Stephanie Neighbour: I’ve decided to out you as a gadget junkie—Apple in particular. What is your gadget of choice for writing your manuscripts?
CB: Hardcore apple, however my computer isn’t…something about software and other gibberish that the IT man of the house keeps telling. When I’m not typing at my desk, I’m using one of my three iPad to write a scene. After I email it and fix it.
S.N.: Your number one guilty pleasure is??? (I already know it isn’t Taco Bell)
CB: Any and all carbohydrates, chocolate, candy, pastries, real tacos…overall I’m a foodie.
S.N.: Do you decide the path of your characters or do they take on a life of their own as the story unfolds?
They take their own path and I just have to watch them behave, there’s been a few times when I have to erase several chapters because they don’t care about closure. One of the reasons why I have 7 first drafts of Getting By stored in my computer.
S.N.: Have you always considered yourself a writer? If so, when did you begin writing? If not, at what age did you begin writing?

Definitely a storyteller, age…fairly young. A few times I wrote the stories; that began around middle school. During high school, my best friend who had an ongoing Telenovela with her boyfriend suggested that I documented it and make myself famous with it. One day I might out her, as soon as I find my notebook I’ll get her.

Six years ago I retook the idea of writing what the voices in my head tell me. Last year is when I found the guts to share them.

S.N.: If you could write in a different genre, what would it be?

CB: Sci-Fi… in middle school I seriously made my boyfriend believe I was an alien. Mothership and all explained in detailed. I was raised in a house of Assimov lovers, Star Trek geeks and overall nerds.

Fantasy and paranormal too, that comes from the fairy side of my family and my grandfather who always told me I’m good with ghosts—he died before I was born.

S.N.: Who or what inspires you?
CB: Music inspires me, it sets the mood of how the book will go. Who…the people I observe.
S.N.: Early bird or night owl?
CB: Night Owl? I work Australia time, which usually is when we sleep here in America.
S.N.: Your dream vacation is….
CB: Depends on my mood, I love to walk and discover new places, but if I’m tired a good sun tan in front of the ocean is perfect.
S.N.: Name something you are really horrible at. (Doesn’t have to be related to writing)
CB: Crafts, I have two left hands. I can’t use a thread and a needle even if my life depends on it. *useless, the voices in my head scream in unison*
S.N.: What can we expect from you in the future? New projects? Other ventures?

This book I’m releasing, Getting by, is the first installment of series A Knights Tales. Following Jake, Mitch and Liam three playboy brothers who have a playboy life but a knight in shining armor complex. Their world collides a bit with the world of Where Life Takes You—the Life series. There’s a cameo from one of the characters of WLTY here.

The second project is Next To You, book number two of the Life series. I teamed up with Damonza and we have a gorgeous cover, which should be reveal in the near future. On this book, we’ll not only listen to Becca, but also Dan’s side of the story. This is not a rehash of the first book from Dan’s POV though. There are a few cameos from the characters of Getting by here. And the precious is already with my Editor extraordinaire, Karen.

I’m doodling with the second book of the Knights Tales series Standing By, that’s Mitch and Hayley’s story. Meanwhile, in the other side of my brain; I’m pondering about a third book of the Life series, with Buddy’s life—Dan’s foster brother. There’s another book which at the moment is a skeleton trying to stir up the usual protocol and bring a different kind of theme to what’s been written lately. There’s a twist on it and I’m hoping to pull something fun.


Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Xpresso Book Tours

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Movie Review: Need for Speed(2014)

Need For Speed (2014_)

Need for Speed

Director: Scott Waugh
Writer: George Gatins (screenplay),George Gatins (story), John Gatins (story)
imdb.com

Synopsis

Fresh from prison, a street racer who was framed by a wealthy business associate joins a cross country race with revenge in mind. His ex-partner, learning of the plan, places a massive bounty on his head as the race begins.




Review

Let me first start out by saying that I have never played Need for Speed, and I've only ever heard of the game in passing. The only thing I knew about the game going in was that it was very popular and it had to do with racing. Last night (Wednesday, February 19, 2014), I went to a free pre-screening of Need for Speed through See It First at a local Regal Cinema. My husband acquired the tickets. Since it was free, I was all game to go see it.

We had talked about the movie before, both saying that we wouldn't pay to go see it because it looked like it wasn't going to be worth it. I will be the first person to say that I grossly underestimated this movie, and I'm glad it more than surpassed my expectations.

In the reel of trailers and behind the scenes footage they showed before the screening, the actors and director of Need for Speed were the first to tell the audience that there is NO CGI in this movie. All the driving is real. The actors had to take driving lessons, and they all did their own stunts. That was one of the things that make this movie so phenomenal. The audience feels like they are in the car, right along for the ride with Toby and the other racers. With the movie theater speakers, your seat rumbles with the cars. It feels like you're right there with them.

It is chock full of cars that most people will never get to see or touch in person. Fast, fast, beautiful cars that can go faster than most people will ever drive in their lifetime. There were definitely a lot of gasps and people fawning over the cars going on in the theater.

This is definitely a good move for Aaron Paul. With Breaking Bad just ending, I think it was important that Paul get his name back out there right after to establish him as more than his role as Jesse. He really showed more of his range with this movie, while still operating within his wheelhouse.

Not only is it a wonderful action movie, but there is also a tangible plot that really works for the movie. There are tears (happy and sad), angry moments, and moments where you hold your breath because you don't know what is going to happen and you only want the best for the main character. It has everything a movie goer wants.

As a huge fan of the Fast and Furious franchise, I really urge people to go out and see this movie. The effects are better, the cars are crazier, and the acting is top notch.

GO SEE IT!


Go

Book Blitz and Giveaway: Paris Cravings by Kimberley Montpetit

Paris Cravings
Paris Cravings









Can life really turn on a dime, a missed bus— or a stuck pastry shop door?
Chloe Dillard’s life has always been complicated. Her mother is a neurotic romance novelist and her boyfriend, Mathew, has been pressuring her to go “all the way”. But after The Worst Night of Her Life, Chloe escapes on her Senior Class trip to the swoon-worthy city of Paris which takes her mind off her troubles—temporarily. On the final leg of her dream trip, Chloe squeezes in one final run for a last-minute box of decadent pastries. Add a stuck door, subtract a broken four-inch heel from her cute strappy sandals, and Chloe ends up one stuck girl on the bakery shop floor with a sprained ankle. Rescued by the shop owner’s dreamy son with chocolate-syrup eyes, the beautiful city of Paris suddenly becomes Chloe’s personal secret adventure. And even though Jean-Paul, the oh-so-kind La Patisserie shop boy is the gentlemanly guy Chloe has always dreamed of, even he has a girlfriend. The police are tracking her down as a run-away, Mom’s having a nervous breakdown over her daughter’s “disappearance”, and Chloe’s just trying to have a Happily-Ever-After even as her dreams with Matt are swirling down the drain. Could being lost in the city of Paris be just what the doctor ordered? What’s a girl to do in the most romantic city in the world?




Praise for Paris Cravings:

  •  "PARIS CRAVINGS is such a fun read, I couldn't put it down! This is a humorous, delicious, and dreamy romance set in Paris about pastries, growing up, dating, and making those hard decisions about the kind of guy you want to be with, and who is best for you." ~Milyssa Rivera 
  •  "Who can resist a book set in Paris amidst a Patisserie shop full of eclairs and pastries?! I'm excited this is a series, because anything with a bakery involved and I am in! Paris Cravings started out with a girl, a big box, some high heels and a mishap with a door. Insert cute worker with Hershey brown eyes, a French accent and a missing passport and you have the beginnings of romance." ~Fire & Ice Blogger




 Excerpt:
Dear Diary: I have a confession to make: I’ve become a total idiot over French pastries. They’re my new favorite food. My new-found edible souvenir. My new favorite sin. Drizzled chocolate, sugar-dusted raspberries, flaky crusts with perfect crimped edges. I’ll have to run a marathon when I get back home to New York just to burn off my new five pounds. French beignets are the worst temptation. Those yeasty chocolate-filled pastries call to me the way Prada handbags call to my mother from Fifth Avenue. Dunkin Donuts—so yesterday. Climbing the Eiffel tower, running through miles of hallways at the Louvre Museum, gourmet lunches on the Seine River . . . yes, those are all must-sees . . . if you don’t mind vertigo-dizzying heights and enough paintings to saturate your brain for the rest of your life. But once I discovered La Patisserie, the rest of Paris became a mere backdrop for my guilty pleasure. What’s a girl to do?


Kimberley

   Author Kimberley Montpetit 




 Kimberley Montpetit once spent all her souvenir money at the La Patisserie shops when she was in Paris—on the arm of her adorable husband. The author grew up in San Francisco, another swoon-worthy city, loves all things Parisian and chocolate and lives in a small town along the Rio Grande with her family. Kimberley has won many awards for her work, including the Southwest Book Award, the Whitney Award, the Arizona/New Mexico Book Award, is a Crystal Kite Finalist (SCBWI) and included in the Bank Street College Best Books of the Year. She once stayed in a haunted castle tower room at Borthwick Castle in Scotland, sailed on the Seine in Paris, walked the beaches of Normandy, eaten in numerous French cafes, ridden a camel in Petra, Jordan, sunbathed on Waikiki, shopped the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul, and spent the night in an old Communist hotel in Bulgaria. She adores all baked goodies; brownies, ├ęclairs, donuts, tarts, and pie, and makes a lot of chocolate chip cookies while revising. Kimberley is, of course, hard at work on her next novel(s).


BookBlast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash 
 Ends 3/14/14 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway