Saturday, December 21, 2013

Book Tour and Giveaway: Lichgates by S.M. Boyce


Series: The Grimoire Saga #1

Author: S.M. Boyce

Publication Date: October 15th 2011

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Available From:


Fans of The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and Eragon will enjoy this contemporary remix of the classic epic fantasy genre.


Kara Magari is about to discover a beautiful world full of terrifying things—Ourea.

Kara, a college student still reeling from her mother’s recent death, has no idea the hidden world of Ourea even exists until a freak storm traps her in a sunken library. With no way out, she opens an ancient book of magic called the Grimoire and unwittingly becomes its master, which means Kara now wields the cursed book’s untamed power. Discovered by Ourea’s royalty, she becomes an unwilling pawn in a generations-old conflict—a war intensified by her arrival. In this world of chilling creatures and betrayal, Kara shouldn’t trust anyone… but she’s being hunted and can’t survive on her own. She drops her guard when Braeden, a native soldier with a dark secret, vows to keep her safe. And though she doesn’t know it, her growing attraction to him may just be her undoing.

For twelve years, Braeden Drakonin has lived a lie. The Grimoire is his one chance at redemption, and it lands in his lap when Kara Magari comes into his life. Though he begins to care for this human girl, there is something he wants more. He wants the Grimoire.

Welcome to Ourea, where only the cunning survive.


When I read the Goodreads synopsis for this book, I instantly knew that it was going to have big shoes to fill by the comparison to The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and Eragon. Those are some powerful fantasy books that take the cake when compared to anything else. But I was interested to read Lichgates to see what it was all about. I was not disappointed in the least.

The first thing that caught my attention and pulled me into this book was the wonderful description and detail that Boyce put into this story. It's easy to tell that she wanted her readers to be able to be fully emersed in this new world she created. It's very visual, and that is one big thing that I like for my stories. I have to be able to connect with the world that the characters are living in and operating in, or else it doesn't work.

The dialogue is also very good. It's smart and funny and perfect for the characters who are speaking. I would have liked a little more talking, honestly, but it's not a major complaint. The characters were very well-rounded, with interesting personal stories. Each character is there for a reason.

The story, along with the world and the characters, is exciting and well-done. Fantasy readers will just eat this story up. It's hard to start it and not finish it the same day. I would suggest it to anyone who likes Fantasy, Young Adult, or just a good story that takes place in a whole, new, exciting world.



About the Author

International Amazon Bestseller. Fantasy Author. Twitter addict. Book Blogger. Geek. Sarcastic. Gooey. Odd. Author of the action-packed Grimoire Saga.

S.M. Boyce is a novelist who loves ghosts, magic, and spooky things. She prefers loose-leaf tea, reads far too many books, and is always cold. She’s married to her soul mate and couldn’t be happier. Her B.A. in Creative Writing qualifies her to serve you french fries.

Boyce likes to update her blog a few times each week so that you have something to wake you up in the morning.

Author Links


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Xpresso Book Tours

Friday, December 20, 2013

Book Tour and Giveaway: Sparks the Matchmaker by Russell Elkins

sparks tour banner

sparksSparks the Matchmaker  

Author: Russell Elkins


Ollie just wants one thing. The girl. Things haven’t been going so well with Anne lately, though; their relationship has become a perpetual study date, and Ollie’s roommates are starting to worry about him. How to fix things? Why, with a marriage proposal, of course. Unfortunately for Ollie, his relationship with Anne has run out of gas. Life feels like it’s counting down to one. And that one is the only person in Ollie’s life he really cares about: Ollie. Perhaps, then, he should get over himself. But first he has to deal with Sparks, the irritating little Yankees fan who invades his life in order to “help” him. And while Keith, his best friend, is doing all he can to help, Ollie’s other friend Richie never fails to show up and threaten to ruin everything just by being himself. Never mind all the drama Sparks brings to the party by forcing Ollie to take a job actually helping people in need. Will Ollie meet the girl? Will it be in history class? On a road trip to Colorado? Can he get over Anne, or should he try to mend the relationship? Should he pursue the new girl Sparks is trying to set him up with? As the strings of the puppeteer tangle with the strings of the heart, only one person can sort out the mess Ollie has made. It seems that the harder he tries, the more Ollie messes things up. Is Sparks a cruel manipulator, or is he really going to help Ollie find his match?



Ollie was in the process of packing some clean underwear into his bag when he heard Sparks’ voice from the doorway. “Joy still hasn't broken up with her boyfriend. I thought she would have done it by now.”

“What?” Ollie was stunned. “Are you serious?”

“Relax. She's a little harder to read than most people. I really thought she'd have dumped him by now.”

Ollie suspected Sparks was concealing something, but he couldn’t guess it. “That’s just great. I'm picking her up in a few minutes, man! And now I’ll have that looming over my head the whole weekend.”

“It's not a big deal. Seriously. Not a big deal.”

“It is to me. Are you trying to tell me that you guessed wrong on that? I mean, that’s something that seems pretty pivotal and important. You seemed so sure before,” Ollie said.

“Yeah, I was. She's just harder to read, that's all. Nothing's gonna change. Everything is still on track. The boyfriend won't come into play at all… for the weekend, anyway.”

“Huh, it sounds like it’s going to make everything awkward.”

“Oh, I get it. You’re under the impression that you were gonna hit it off this weekend. But you're not going to be doing any kissing or holding hands or gazing into each other's eyes in soft moonlight. You won't be doing anything but getting to know each other. You know, as friends will do?”

“What? Why didn't you tell me that earlier? Sparks, you keep leading me into situations like this, and you don’t tell me anything. You like to keep me in the dark as much as you possibly can.”

Sparks looked at Ollie like he was missing something really obvious. “Listen. I’m not responsible for the things you imagine. I give you information you wouldn’t otherwise have, and I give it to you on a need- to- know basis. You need to be able to act spontaneously in order for everything to come out right. Besides,” he pushed his hat back on his head, “I don't like to be wrong when I'm guessing stuff. I prefer to wait when I give answers… just in case things change.”

“I can’t tell you how reassuring that is.”

“You don't have to accept my help, you know. I could go help someone else.”

Ollie took a deep breath and then let it out as a rumble in his throat. “Ah. You’re probably right anyway.”

Praise for Sparks the Matchmaker: I wasn't sure what to expect from this book. How many "romance" novels do you read where the protagonist is male, or even where the author is male? At first, I thought that was going to be the unique focus of this story. I was pleasantly surprised, though. The "Sparks" character was a completely unique take on things. Also, I tend to be one of those people who frequently predicts the endings of books and t.v. shows, etc., but I hadn't seen the ending of this story coming. It was a quick and easy read (which was just what I needed right now) but with plenty of intelligence and creativity woven into the story. I think I can say with confidence that even my teenage son would enjoy it, as well as my Mom. Looking forward to the next installment in the series.Definitely not what I expected from a romantic comedy novel, but in a good way! Can't wait for the next one :)

add to goodreads



I don't read a lot of fiction written by men, let alone a romance novel written by a man. It's a little unusual for the genre, no offense to Mr. Elkins. So I was a little surprised when I came across the chance to review this for a tour. I love new opportunities, though, so I jumped at the chance to give it a read.

Sparks the Matchmaker is not only a fascinating character, but a quirky, cute read. Ollie was not having the best luck with women, despite being in a long term relationship when the novel opens. Life with his girlfriend is lackluster, and he is desperate for things to get better. Instead of trying to revitalize the relationship with a talk or an adventure, he decides that a proposal is the best thing for them - his friends are not so sure.

In comes Sparks, "the irritating little Yankees fan who invades his life in order to “help” him". Sparks is determined to get his life back on track, even if Ollie hates it and doesn't see the merit in his methods. All Ollie wants to do is get the girl, and Sparks is just in his way.

For me, Sparks really made the novel. Without him, I don't think it would have been as good. The rest of the guys spend their time "being guys", but Sparks is the character that really gets in there and shakes things up for them. He was a great character to get to spend time with. This is definitely an interesting book.



Author Russell Elkins

russell elkinsRussell Elkins has become a leading expert on open adoption through first-hand experience that he now shares in Open Adoption, Open Heart. Russell regularly contributes to He also writes his own blog at to educate others in the struggles and beauties of open adoption. Russell has always been a family man at heart, looking forward to the day when he could be a husband and a father. It took him a little while, but eventually his eyes locked onto a beautiful blonde, and he has never looked away. Russell and Jammie were married in 2004. They had the same goals for their home and didn't want to wait too long before starting their family. However, filling their home quickly with children wasn't in the cards, and they found themselves weighing their options to overcome problems with infertility. Their lives changed dramatically the day they decided to adopt. Russell and Jammie have adopted two beautiful children, Ira and Hazel, and have embraced their role as parents through open adoption. Both are actively engaged in the adoption community by communicating through social media, taking part in discussion panels, and writing songs about adoption. Russell was born on Andrews Air Force Base near Washington, D.C., in the fall of 1977. Along with his five siblings, he and his military family moved around a lot, living in eight different houses by the time he left for college at age 17. Although his family moved away from Fallon, Nevada, just a few months after he moved out, he still considers that little oasis in the desert to be his childhood hometown. Even after leaving home, Russell always stayed close to his family. He shared an apartment with each of his three brothers at different times during his college career. They formed a band together back in the 1990s and still perform on a regular basis under the name of the Invisible Swordsmen. After nearly a decade of college and changing his major a few times, Russell received his bachelor's degree in sociology from Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. He later graduated from Ameritech College where he learned the trade of being a dental lab technician. Russell now owns and operates Elkins Dental Lab located in Meridian, Idaho.

  Tour Giveaway 

 $25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 1/12/14   a Rafflecopter giveaway   Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

Thursday, December 19, 2013

Cover Reveal: The Untold Stories by Rhiannon Paille

 photo CoverReveal.jpg

Infinity Unleashed cover

The Untold Stories

Series: The Ferryman and the Flame

Author: Rhiannon Paille

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult


Skeleton & Dust

In the First Era, before Kaliel and Krishani fell in love, Tor runs. He escapes the Land of Kings and the tyrannical Valtanyana. In the depths of Tempia he forges weapons– The Flames– strong enough to oppose the Kings he betrayed.

Aria, The Amethyst Flame, cannot touch the living or the dead and her kin are silent ghosts. Hidden in a cairn deep in the haunted forest, Aria becomes obsessed with the Ferryman, the only boy who can feel her touch.

Before Aria knows it, The Flames, The Ferryman and Tor are swept up in the first war against the Valtanyana.

Lantern & Poison

Hadwen is no more. The Daed have no choice but to travel to Avrigost to awaken Crestaos. They’re thrown into a whirlwind quest for the Flames, not knowing how ruthless and sadistic Crestaos can be.

Blood & Gold

The Daed are pawns to one of the most powerful members of the Valtanyana. Crestaos is insane, his hunger for the Flames insatiable. The closer the Daed get to achieving his goal, the more expendable they become.

About the Author

A.J. Bennett

Rhi was never a normal girl. Her life was an urban fantasy wrapped in a paranormal romance and served with a side of horror. To escape her everyday weirdness she began writing fantasy. She studied at U of Sedona and MIMT, obtaining a PhD in Metaphysical Science and Parapsychology. She's married to a chef/comic book shop owner and has a fondness for architecture. She frequents twitter and facebook, but if you really want to get to know her you should visit her site.

Author Links

Xpresso Book Tours

Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Cover Reveal and Giveaway: Cutlass by Ashley Nixon

 photo CoverReveal.jpg

Infinity Unleashed cover


Series: Cutlass Series #1

Author: Ashley Nixon

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Release Date: April 23rd 2014


Notorious pirate Barren Reed has one thing on his mind: Revenge against the man who killed his father. So kidnapping his enemy’s fiancé seems a perfect plan…until he actually does it.

Larkin Lee is more than a pretty face and fiancé to a powerful man. Her fierce personality is enough to make any pirate want to push her overboard.

But when the King of the Orient comes to Barren with a task—to find the Bloodstone, a powerful gem thought only to exist in legend, Barren sees another opportunity to destroy his enemy. Together, Barren, Larkin and a crew of pirates set off to find the stone, only to discover it caused the death of Barren’s own mother and Larkin’s, too. As his strongest allies turn into his greatest enemies, and the life of the girl he kidnapped becomes more important than he ever dreamed, Barren’s quest for revenge becomes a fight to save the Orient.

About the Author

A.J. Bennett

Ashley was born and raised in Oklahoma, where the wind really does sweep down the plains, and horses and carriages aren't used as much as she'd like. When she's not writing, she's hard at work on her Master's degree in Library Science and Information Technology, working out, or pretending she's Sherlock Holmes. Her obsession with writing began after reading the Lord of the Rings in the eighth grade. Since then, she's loved everything Fantasy--resulting in an unhealthy obsession with the 'geek' tab on Pinterest, where all things awesome go.

Author Links

Xpresso Book Tours

Book Blitz and Giveaway: The Holders by Julianna Scott

The Holders (Holders #1)
Release Date: 03/05/2013

Summary from Goodreads:
17-year-old Becca spent her whole life protecting her brother from, well, everything. The abandonment of their father, the so called 'experts' who insist that voices in his head are unnatural and must be dealt with, and the constant threat of being taken away to some hospital and studied like an animal. When two representatives appear claiming to have the answers to Ryland's perceived problem, Becca doesn't buy it for one second. That is until they seem to know things about Ryland and about Becca and Ryland's family, that forces Becca to concede that there may be more to these people than meets the eye. Though still highly skeptical, Becca agrees to do what's best for Ryland.

What they find at St. Brigid's is a world beyond their imagination. Little by little they piece together the information of their family's heritage, their estranged Father, and the legend of the Holder race that decrees Ryland is the one they've been waiting for. However, they are all--especially Becca--in for a surprise that will change what they thought they knew about themselves and their kind.

She meets Alex, a Holder who is fiercely loyal to their race, and for some reason, Becca and Ryland. There's an attraction between Becca and Alex that can't be denied, but her true nature seems destined to keep them apart. However, certain destinies may not be as clear cut as everyone has always believed them to be.

Becca is lost, but found at the same time. Can she bring herself to leave Ryland now that he's settled and can clearly see his future? Will she be able to put the the feelings she has for Alex aside and head back to the US? And can Becca and Ryland ever forgive their father for what he's done?
Available from:

Book 2:
(linked to Goodreads)

Praise for Series:
“The twisty plot and swoony romance of The Seers kept me turning the pages as I fell in love with Becca and Alex all over again.”
Trisha Wolfe, author of Fireblood

“It had a gripping plot, plenty of exciting twists and turns and some pretty fantastic characters which all combined to keep me glued to the pages.”
A Dream of Books

“If this is any notion of what Julianna Scott can do, I cannot wait to see what is next. The Holders was refreshing and just one heck of a good read.”
The Book Cellar

“I am so thankful this is only the beginning of a series because I couldn't imagine not being able to read a continuation of Becca's story. The Holders is a novel too entertaining and emotionally charged to pass up!”
Lovey Dovey Books

“There are a lot of other things to love about The Holders – a detailed history and Celtic element come to mind – but it was really the characters that sold this novel for me.”
More Than Just Magic

About the Author
Julianna was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and spent the majority of her educational career convinced she would be a musician. However, after receiving her music degree from Edinboro University of Pennsylvania, she realized that she'd been born in the wrong era for her dreams of singing jazz to adoring fans clad in zoot-suits and flapper dresses to come true, and began to wonder if her true calling might be elsewhere.

While Julianna had always excelled in writing throughout school, she'd never considered it a career possibility until about three years ago, when she'd gotten her first story idea and decided to go for it. She grabbed her laptop, started typing away, and has never looked back.

Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png

Pre-Order Gift:
 As a special gift to anyone who pre-orders The Seers, we are giving away a free e-book with several scenes from The Holders written from different character's points of view! All you have to do to get yours is pre-order The Seers, then email your receipt or other proof of purchase to Julianna Scott at, and she will send you the e-novella in the format of your choosing. That's it! And if you have already pre-ordered The Seers, not to worry! Send your receipt along, and you'll get your copy too!

1 – Necklace (as pictured) plus ebook copies of The Holders and The Seers
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Blitz Organized by:

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Cover Reveal: Full Steam Ahead by Valerie Chase

 photo CoverReveal.jpg

Full Steam Ahead

Author: Valerie Chase

Genre: Contemporary, New Adult

Release Date: January 7th 2014


Seven days aboard a luxury cruise.

The perfect getaway from it all.

At least, that’s what Georgia Cantwell is hoping for.

Georgia wishes she could erase the nightmare that has consumed her life for the last six months—but she can’t. With her inbox filling with menacing emails and with a terrible secret chewing at her nerves, she just needs to get through her sorority’s winter break cruise without anyone realizing how wrecked she is. What she doesn’t need is Jace McLaren, a green-eyed womanizer, seeing through her tacked-on smile when no one else seems to notice.

Growing up with a father in jail and a barely-there mom, Jace knows from experience that if you’re going through hell, there’s no way out but through. He has always steered away from girls like Georgia with her snooty glances and ice-queen attitude, but she’s in real trouble, and despite himself he pushes past her walls.

As much as Georgia tries to ignore it, Jace won’t let her pretend with him. But she can’t risk telling him what she did two years ago. Her secret would ruin his trust, her family, her future—everything.

But out on the open ocean, there’s nowhere to hide. And when Georgia’s secrets come tumbling out, it might take more than Jace to save her.

Xpresso Book Tours

Book Blitz: That One Summer by C.J. Duggan

That One Summer

Series: Summer #3

Author: C.J. Duggan

Genre: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Publication Date: December 17th 2013


Loving Chris Henderson would be wrong. Diabolically disastrous. I mean, what is there about him to love? He’s moody, bossy, brooding, a control freak, and that’s on a good day … but there was one achingly obvious fact that haunted my every thought, every minute of every day …

He sure could kiss.

As the countdown to the new millennium begins, there is one thing everyone agrees on: no one wants to be in Onslow for New Year’s Eve.

So that can only mean one thing: road trip!

No longer the mousey, invisible, shy girl from years ago, Tammy Maskala is finally making up for all those lost summers. A new year with new friends, which astoundingly includes the bossy boy behind the bar, Chris Henderson.

She likes her new friends (at least most of them), so why does she secretly feel so out of place?

After chickening out on the trip, a last-minute change of heart sees Tammy racing to the Onslow Hotel, fearing she’s missed her chance for a ride. The last thing she expected to meet was a less-than-happy Onslow Boy leaning against his black panel van.

Now the countdown begins to reach the others at Point Shank before the party is over and the new year has begun. Alone in a car with only the infuriating Chris Henderson, Tammy can’t help but feel this is a disastrous start to what could have been a great adventure. But when the awkward road trip takes an unexpected turn, Tammy soon discovers that the way her traitorous heart feels about Chris is the biggest disaster of all.

Fogged up windows, moonlight swimming, bad karaoke and unearthed secrets; after this one summer nothing will ever be the same again.


“So what do you think?” Chris stood with his elbow leaning casually on the open door of his jet black panel van. He looked up at me expectantly. “Pretty sweet ride, huh?”

“If you’re a serial killer,” I said, cautiously descending the steps.

Chris’s head snapped around with surprise, his eyes almost as dark as the van itself. He slammed the car door and folded his arms, glowering at me as I approached.

“I’ll have you know, Toby and I have spent the better part of six months fixing this old girl up.”

I wrinkled my nose. “Really?”

“It’s got a 308 and a four barrel carby.”

“Why, it could be grease lightning,” I smirked.

I didn’t think a death stare could vary in so many ways, but Chris had mastered a variety of pissed-off stares like no other. The one he was now casting me was a whole new level of anger.


I cleared my throat and looked away, suddenly super aware that the last thing I should do was alienate my ride, but then the thought did occur to me: did I want to be trapped in a car with Chris Henderson for three days? Three long, insufferable days – could I subject myself to any more death stares, sneers, scoffs and deep sighs? Maybe I would be doing myself a favour if I gave him good reason to leave me behind. Before I fully acclimated to the idea, my attention was snapped back to the present and the duffle bag that landed at my feet.

I frowned toward the verandah where Chris had moved and was readying himself to turf my other bag down.

“Hey! Watch it,” I snapped. “You might break something.” It was a possibility, though I didn’t know exactly what. Maybe Mum had slipped in a crockery set? Who could honestly guess?

“Let me guess,” Chris said with a smirk as he slung my beach bag over his shoulder and trotted down the steps. “Hairdryer?” He threw a cocky smile and grazed my shoulder as he passed, heading for the van. My eyes burned into his back as he opened the double doors to chuck in my bag. He turned to me expectantly, his hand out for me to pass him the duffle. I snatched it up, trying not to let the strain of its weight show as I lugged it over and carefully placed it into the back. I attempted to, anyway. With a rather inelegant lack of grace, I hitched it up onto my knee, trying to be all cool and casual, as if I was totally in control …

I so wasn’t.

Chris plucked it from me as if the bag weighed nothing and turfed it into the back.


“Relax, it landed on the mattress.”


I peered into the back. Sure enough, a mattress lined the whole floor up to the front bucket seats. The windows were blacked out and the inside walls were lined with black carpet. Oh, ick. All it needed was some leopard-print cushions and a disco ball.

It would seem that black was a common theme throughout Chris’s van, and the colour matched his mood.

Chris slammed the back shut. Viewing time was over.

I half expected him to say, “Let’s get this show on the road,” or “We’re burning daylight,” but instead I got a rather lacklustre, “Get in.”

Yep! Three long days.

About the Author

C.J Duggan is an Australian author who lives with her husband in a rural border town of New South Wales, Australia. The Boys of Summer is Book One in her Mature Young Adult Romance Series.

Author Q&A

1. What is your writing process like, what comes first, characters or story?
Definitely the characters, they are first and foremost in my thoughts, they’re the ones that dictate how the story is to be told. Just when I think I have it mapped out one way to write the story a character will usually throw me for a loop and take me in a completely different direction. Although I am very organised in my office in my surroundings in the dead of night I write mainly by the seat of my pants with only a vague outline in my head on where I want to the story to go, that’s the bit I love about writing, the discovery.
2. What sparked the idea for the series ?
It was something that has been churning in my mind since I was a little girl, even if it was something no more mapped out than a group of friends hanging lakeside over a summer. It was an idea that has manifested into an entire world and I felt that I owed it to that eleven-year-old little me to develop it into a story. I know I was eleven because I had found an old exercise book with the story plotted out in my child-like handwriting and I could seldom believe it was something that had been swimming.
3. Are there any parallels that could be drawn from your life and the Summer Series?
I grew up in a small country town in Australia so I am well aware of what it’s like to have to make your own fun. Unfortunately our town wasn’t set on the banks of Lake Onslow but it was still a nice place to live. My first job was working as a barmaid at the local hotel and I remember the fear of my first shift and learning the ropes.
4 .If you had to pick your favorite scene from ‘An Endless Summer ’?
There are so many scenes I love. Chris and Tammy are so dynamic together but without giving too much away there is a late night swimming session that was quite fun to write.
5. Which two things do you think readers might not know about you ?
I am addicted to Pepsi Max and buying handbags, lots and lots of handbags.

Author Links

Guest Post

Today I wanted to share with you how a dream can become a reality. I decided to look back on the past few years from when I decided to ‘Own what I do’ by upping the stakes to write and publish my debut novel. I scrolled through my old blog posts to where it all began. Here is my very first post and the decision I made that would change my life forever.

February 16th, 2011.

I am a writer (and yes I have decided to admit the title and claim it with pride) And as writers, so often many of us shy away from the admission and think ourselves not worthy. Like myself, I am what I would call a “Closet Writer” a writer in secrecy in the fear of being judged as strange, or littered with nosey questions. A writer can be many things and do it for many reasons. I know this sounds rather cliché’ but I have always even from a young age found myself plotting, world building, scheming the majority of the day to the point I fear becoming more and more detached from this world. How then to answer my husbands “Whatch ya thinking about?” question as I day dream in the car, if I was to answer honestly it would no doubt raise an eyebrow and have me committed.

Unless I am a writer, right?

I am now come to a point where I think, what’s stopping me? Why not pursue what makes me happy? What I am truly passionate about. This isn’t just a phase, I have suffered from this brainstorming affliction all of my life to the point where I have so much pent up story lines and characters waiting to burst from my imagination. So where to begin? Let’s remember I am a newbie (Oh how I loathe that word) I have come out of the closet and embracing my inner writer. Call me mad but I actually think as the ‘writer’ in me as my alter ego, the thing within me that has the want to express alternative people and places – therefore the creation of my Author name (C.J Duggan) was born. Yep! I have decided I am releasing my inner alter ego on the world, while keeping some mystery. Let’s face it, and here is the clincher – Start small aim big – by doing so I plan to build confidence, technique, experience, time – indeed so much time and energy might be dedicated to keep anonymous or maybe I will want to shout out to the world “Here I am!!…Look at me!! Guess only time will tell?

And time did tell.

Two years on and I am an honest to God Author. Not only is it a dream come true but through a lot of hard work and determination I have created something that not only resinates with me but is also reaching an international audience. Three weeks after its release ‘The Boys of Summer’ broke into the Top 100 Amazon Best Sellers, both in U.S and U.K, it ranked at Number One in Australian iBooks and Number Sixteen in Canadian iBooks. I really wanted to reiterate that nothing great was ever achieved without some form of doubt and insecurity. The road to this point was filled with such moments and I am so thankful for those moments, because it was everything with in them that lead me to where I am today.

"Laugh at yourself, but don't ever aim your doubt at yourself. Be bold. When you embark for strange places, don't leave any of yourself safely on shore. Have the nerve to go into unexplored territory." - Alan Alda

Xpresso Book Tours

Review: First Ink by Laura Wright

First Ink

Series: Wicked Ink Chronicles #1

Author: Laura Wright



Women in his bed, celebs and rockers in his chair and a killer bank account at his disposal, life is pretty freaking swell. Then she walks back into it again. With her mismatched eyes, perfect pink mouth and a laugh that still haunts him, she gave him nothing but marvelous misery. Now she wants his hands on her again. Not for pleasure, but for pain. For Ink. A bleeding heart to match the one she left him with five years ago.


She can’t forget him. No matter how hard she’s tried. The pain she caused him in the past eats at her daily, and she can’t move on with her life. But she has a plan, a hope for redemption – a way for him to take his revenge out on her flesh. But it’ll only work if he lets her inside his exclusive world, under his famous artist’s needle and into his bed—and heart-once again.

*First Ink can also be found in the Wicked Firsts Anthology*


When Laura Wright decided to let this ebook go for free, I was ecstatic. I had been meaning to get my hands on it, but I just never got around to doing so. Already a fan of her and her writing style, I knew that I was going to have a good book on my hands. Along with the premise, who could resist this book? Sexy tattoo artist, tattoos, and some … wickedness.

The novella starts in Addison’s point of view at a tattoo convention with her best friend, obviously looking for someone from her past. Rush. Tattooing on a stage in front of a large crowd, he is just as sexy as he was back when they were high school sweethearts … no, he was even sexier with those tattoos. She is there to make amends for something she did in the past, something she did to hurt him. And he doesn’t want to see her.

In a flurry of events, she ends up in his chair, under his needle, and under his control. She didn’t go there wanting a tattoo, but it quickly becomes clear that it’s the only way she is going to get to spend any time with him.

Rush is flabbergasted when Addison ends up in his chair. After years of avoiding her calls and rejecting her tattoo appointments, he has no way to run away from her. So he agrees to put some ink on her – ink she won’t get to see until he is completely done. He doesn’t want to hear her apology or excuses, but he has no choice.

Things quickly change back to the way they were back before things went sour. White-hot scenes ensue – in true, Laura Wright fashion. It’s a hot, emotional, drop dead sexy mix that makes for a wonderful reading experience for anyone reading this book. She is a fantastic writer. I would suggest this to anyone who likes tattooed men, white-hot chemistry, and a stormy romance.


 5 stars

Monday, December 16, 2013

Book Tour and Giveaway: Addicted for Now by Krista Ritchie & Becca Ritchie

Addicted for Now

Series: Addicted #2

Author: Krista Ritchie & Becca Ritchie

Release Date: 11/30/13

Available From:


He's addicted to booze. She's addicted to sex...staying sober is only half the battle.

No. More. Sex.

Those are the three words Lily Calloway fears the most. But Loren Hale is determined to be with Lily without enabling her dangerous compulsions. With their new living situation—sleeping in the same bed, for real, together—Lily has new battles. Like not jumping Lo’s bones every night. Not being consumed by sex and his body.

Loren plans to stay sober, to right all of his wrongs. So when someone threatens to expose Lily’s secret to her family and the public, he promises that he’ll do anything to protect her. But with old enemies surfacing, Lo has more at stake than his sobriety.

They will torment Lily until Lo breaks.

And his worst fear isn’t relapsing. He fears the end. He sees it. The one thing that could change everything. Just three words.

No. More. Us.

New Adult Romance recommended for readers 18+ for mature content.

Books 1 & 1.5

Addicted to You and Richochet


When I started this series, I didn't know how I was going to feel about it. I hadn't read the premise until I was just about to read the book on my kindle. A sex addict and a drunk living together doesn't sound like the most promising novel at first - no offense to the authors. I'm glad I gave the series a chance, though, because it turned out to be a good series worth reading.

Lily is a classic tragic heroine with a modern twist - she's addicted to sex, porn, and 'getting off'. And her best friend/fake boyfriend turned real boyfriend Loren has an alcohol addiction. Honestly, they don't sound like they could make a functioning couple, but they do - and I love it. They're such a dynamic set of characters - but they're great, well-rounded characters on their own. I love that their flaws are so big, but that they are so good at hiding them from everyone else in their lives. It makes for an exciting, enthralling story. As a reader, you're constantly wondering how much longer their secrets are going to stay under wraps.

Addicted for Now took it to a new level, stepping it up several notches - ones that, as a reader, I was eager to gobble up. It was hard enough for Lily to stop having random sex with anyone who struck her fancy anywhere she could get alone to do so, and be monogamous with Loren. Even though he was giving her all the action she needed when she was really needing it, he was still enabling her. It's refreshing in this book to see him stop doing so. The only real way to break an addiction is stopping.

Even changing her ways, though, Lily can undo all the bad things she did from high school up until her and Lo decided to be a couple. There is still that threat that someone in her family could find out, and that threat becomes real in this installment. There is actually someone out there threatening to expose her sorted past. Lo really is her knight in shining armor. He is there to protect her. I love his need to protect Lily, to be there for her. It's sweet.

This really is a great series. Like the synopsis says, it's not meant for readers younger than eighteen years old, but that is part of its charm. I would recommend it to anyone liking new adult or romance. It's unconventional, and that is why it is so darn good.



About the Author

Becca Ritchie is a carnivore of pop culture, television, film and of course YA and NA books. While in college, she worked at The CW television network and put her vampiric knowledge to good use, blogging about hit series and swooning over actors’ abs. When she’s not blogging, she writes novels and has teamed up with her twin sister for their New Adult novel ADDICTED TO YOU. Available July of 2013.

Krista Ritchie is the mind behind popular trading website YA Book Exchange and created Nawanda Files, a book blog that also features books into movies news. When not pouring over entertainment news and the newest releases, she spends her time conducting research in a genetics lab. She’s happy to join forces with her sister, harnessing their twin powers to produce the first in a New Adult series.

Author Links


a Rafflecopter giveaway

YA Bound Book Tours