Saturday, December 7, 2013

Review: Bayou Heat - Talon/Xavier

Bayou Heat #5 & 6 - Talon/Xavier

Author: Alexandra Ivy and Laura Wright



After the tragic death of his parents when Talon was young, he’s dedicated his life to protecting the Pantera. To the strikingly gorgeous man, loyalty and honor mean everything. So it’s no surprise that he’s determined to treat Isi Rousseau as the enemy. If the elders believe she is a danger then he will do whatever necessary to prevent her from destroying his beloved Wildlands. But discovering the delicate beauty sleeping in his bed, Talon discovers his noble intentions wavering. The female, with short, jet black hair streaked with blue, and a pair of dark eyes, might act tough, but it’s obvious to him that she’s as desperate as he is for a place to call home. More importantly, her presence is helping keep Ashe and her baby alive.

Suddenly things are not quite as black and white as Talon assumed, and he must decide if his loyalty to his people is worth losing his true mate.


He shouldn’t want his best friend’s little sister…

The drop-dead gorgeous leader of the Geeks, Xavier has one goal: find the human male his enemies seek. Devoted to his work, and to the Pantera, there is nothing that can distract him from accomplishing his goal. Until he spots his best friend’s little sister alone and partying it up with a bunch of human males at the local bar. Consumed with possessiveness, Xavier takes her home and refuses to leave her side until her brother returns. He tries to convince himself he’s just looking out for her, but the longer he’s around Amalie, the harder it is to deny the molten attraction that burns between them.

She has three days to change his mind…

Beautiful and strong-willed Hunter, Amalie is free. No brother to tell her what to do, and no Pantera watching over her because she happens to be the last Pantera born. But before she can truly enjoy herself, her brother’s best friend tries to put her on lockdown. Xavier has been the star in all of Mal’s fantasies, and there’s no one she’d rather give her virginity to. But the sexy male refuses to open his eyes and see what’s right in front of him. Mal knows she has three days to change his mind. Three days to make him see her as grown, and the one female he can’t resist.


Let me start off with a "Wow!"

I've been a fan of Alexandra Ivy since I picked up her first Guardians of Eternity book. I didn't read anything of Laura Wright's until the first Bayou Heat book (#1 & 2, Raphael/Parish), and that is when I fell in love with the series. A wonderful, mystical race of puma shifters that live in a magically protected bayou. Every man in this land seems to be dripping with sex appeal and handsome to boot. It makes for wonderful male leads.

They did not disappoint in this installment. Talon, a wonderfully protective Hunter who lost his parents tragically, and Isi, a tattoo artist who specializes in tattooing shifters, are forced together when she finds out that the only place she doesn't get sick in the Wildlands is in his house and when he's near. They can't get away from each other. And if he does live her alone, she would be in danger. Both are too head-strong to see the budding interest - so they fight it until they can't anymore. When they do get together, it's hot and steamy and passionate. Alexandra Ivy blew me away again.

Laura Wright has finally made Geeks drop dead sexy with the dark-skinned, drop dead gorgeous Xavier. He is a tech genius in charge of finding out where a particular human-male was. When his best friend, Aristide, gets stuck at work, Xavier puts himself in charge of protecting Aristide's sister, Amalie (Mal). Mal has been in love with Xavier from day one, but she's tired of waiting on him. She wants him to take action, so she can't help teasing him. And Xavier can't help responding to her. She's gorgeous, fun, and completely off limits. He fights himself over and over to keep from taking her and keeping her to himself every time she flaunts around him. Their hot, steamy, crazy relationship blossoms in this novella.

It's another great installment. I would recommend it to anyone who likes romance, paranormal romance, or take charge males who are drop dead sexy


5 stars

Book Blitz and Giveaway: Rook by Stella MacDonald

By: Stella MacDonald


 Could you be the monster to save who you love? Two women, separated by generations, must leave what they know to start a new life. Seventeen-year-old Kate's senior year is ruined when she's moved from the only home she's ever known. After an isolating month alone in her apartment, school starts, but neither her classmates nor her teacher are who they seem. Kali, a single mother living in the nineteenth century wilds of Montana, is stalked by a malicious past. She fights to keep her daughter safe while her freedom is threatened by her less than benevolent benefactor. Both find love, and with it hope, but that is quickly ripped away as one woman must learn the lessons of the other -- before it's too late to save either.

amazon blog

  Praise for Rook:

  •  "This book also drew me in. I couldn't let go of what was happening and when life intervened and forced me to close my computer I kept looking for a few moments to sit down and read some more.” Brookeworm, a Blog 4 Stars
  • "Rook had me hooked from the first page. It all started so mysteriously that I just had to know what it was all about. “ Jannat Bhat, Obsessive Compulsive Reader 4 Stars “Rook is an amazing story that had me at the edge of my seat.” Tee Loves Kyle Jacobson Blog, 5 Stars    


 Is that him? Is he back? My legs jerked, kicking and twitching me around to face the sound. I managed to roll slightly, knocking against a soft, solid object at my feet. It grunted weakly, and immediately I recoiled as though I had been bitten. Squinting, I stared, willing my eyes to find light in the dark, but there was nothing. The sound of the runner drew closer, as if they would trample me any moment. A dim, swaying light appeared through the trees, burning away the inky edges of the deep shadows. When light and sound were almost upon me, branches above me snapped, spraying me in a shower of dried pine needles and snow.

Rook copy

Monica M  Author Stella MacDonald Stella is a married graduate student with three boys. Utah is home right now, but the need to wander has extended beyond the fantasy world of writing and into real life. She's lived all around the US and even into the Middle East. The world is really a small place, only made bigger through imagination.  
Social Media Facebook Social Media TwitterSocial Media Goodreads Social Media Website

  BookBlast $50 Giveaway 
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 12/30/13 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

Friday, December 6, 2013

Book Blitz and Giveaway: Stir Me Up by Sabrina Elkins

Stir Me Up
Release Date: 10/01/13
Harlequin Teen

Summary from Goodreads:
Cami Broussard has her future all figured out. She'll finish her senior year of high school, then go to work full-time as an apprentice chef in her father's French restaurant, alongside her boyfriend, Luke. But then twenty-year-old ex-Marine Julian Wyatt comes to live with Cami's family while recovering from serious injuries. And suddenly Cami finds herself questioning everything she thought she wanted.

Julian's all attitude, challenges and intense green-brown eyes. But beneath that abrasive exterior is a man who just might be as lost as Cami's starting to feel. And Cami can't stop thinking about him. Talking to him. Wanting to kiss him. He's got her seriously stirred up. Her senior year has just gotten a lot more complicated….

Available from:
 photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg  photo 111AD205-AA04-4F9E-A0F4-C1264C4E9F30-1855-000001A1E8CEB6D7_zps9b730b94.jpg  photo KoboIcon_zps515cdc1a.jpg


Julian’s in cutoff sweats and no shirt and he’s trying to reach from the weight bench where he’s seated to the door handle of the small fridge, which is just a few inches too far away from him. From my hiding spot by the doorway, I can see his surprisingly V-shaped bare back, and the rise of muscle that runs from his shoulders to his neck, and the cut of his arms. I clear my throat and he turns.

Okay, there are guys who are utterly ripped, like bodybuilders. That’s not Julian. He’s not stacked like a bodybuilder. He’s just… buff, in this way, in this utterly sensual way. Like his pecs aren’t huge and bulging, they’re just pronounced enough. His chest, like his back, is broad and his body tapers in at the waist, leading to another hint of a V-shape pointing down from his hip bones, and above this the shadowy lines of a six-pack. He sees me. “Hello.”

My insides clench. Suddenly, I can’t look at him. “Can’t sleep?”

“No. I figured I might as well do something useful.”

“But now you’ll have to get your wheelchair all the way back up to the house.”

I glance at him and catch him studying me. “Yeah, I guess I will.”

Probably on account of his injuries, Julian is stretching out his left leg and leaning back on the bench instead of just bending the leg and sitting normally. This is what’s giving me such an amazing view. Of his sweatiness. The sweat has dampened his hair, it’s filming his skin. There are a handful of scars on his chest, and with his head back a little like it is, my eye can trace the line up those scars in a kind of zigzag pattern.

I gulp down some air and hope he can’t hear it. But he must, because that curve at the corner of his mouth deepens a little.

“Can you come here a minute?”

About the Author
Sabrina Elkins, author of Stir Me Up, has also worked as a journalist, movie copywriter and prep cook. She graduated from USC and currently lives with her husband and three children in the greater Los Angeles area.

Sabrina loves hearing from her readers, and encourages you to visit her at, on Twitter @sabrina_elkins, Facebook at elkins.sabrina, and Goodreads.

***Author Links***
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png


Win 1 of 3 stockings filled with holiday candy, chocolates, a hand-crafted Christmas charm bracelet and $10 Amazon gift card.  Open Internationally. Void where prohibited.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Blitz Organized by:

Thursday, December 5, 2013

Book Blitz and Giveaway: The Reaping by Annie Oldham

reapingThe Reaping 
By: Annie Oldham


 The government is on the verge of perfecting its loyalty serum, and Terra knows exactly what that means—the agents will have absolute control. Terra has survived the labor camp, the agents, and the soldiers who hound her as she brings nomads to the water's edge. But now she faces her most daunting challenge yet: she must return to the colony to ask the council—and her father—to help her destroy the loyalty serum. With the aid of old friends and unexpected allies, Terra races toward a confrontation that will decide her fate on the Burn forever.

Buy the ebook: Amazon * Apple * B&N * Smashwords Buy the paperback: Amazon * CreateSpace


The soldiers shrug and look around for a few seconds more before disappearing across the grove to cover more ground. The helicopter lifts into the air and flies above the forest. Our tree sways under its down draft. My foot loses its grip on the branch and I slip, my hands grappling the biting bark as my legs flail out from under me, and Jack catches my hand just in time to keep me from falling. We stay that way—me with one hand on the branch, Jack clinging to my other hand and the tree for all he’s worth—until the sweat is pouring into my eyes and both of our muscles are screaming for relief. I haven’t heard the soldiers for probably five minutes, and the helicopter sounds at least two miles away. I finally let myself relax and Jack pulls me back up onto the branch, and I let my cheek rest on the bark. I close my eyes and take a deep breath. Jack sits down on the branch, his legs dangling on either side as he leans against the trunk. “I knew it would be like this. I knew it would be. I just didn’t imagine it would start so soon. That first week in the colony, I checked my back after leaving and entering every room.” His shoulders slump. “It was so strange to feel safe again. Jessa teased me every time I did it.” He looks at me and arches an eyebrow. “For being twins, you two are completely different. After a couple of weeks, I finally relaxed. I’m going to pick up the habit again pretty quickly.” I nod, and the tree bark scratches my cheek. I don’t know if I’ll ever stop checking my back.  


Author Annie Oldham Annie Oldham grew up with an insatiable desire to read and came away with the insatiable desire to write. Away from her writing, she's the mother of the three most adorable girls in the world, has the best husband in the world, and lives in the hottest place in the world (not really, but Phoenix sure feels like it).

Website * Twitter * Facebook * Goodreads

  BookBlast Giveaway 

 $50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 12/31/13 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal: Rivals and Renegades by J.D. Nock

 photo CoverReveal.jpg

Infinity Unleashed cover

Rivals and Renegades

Series: The Hurley Vance Series #2

Author: J.D. Nock

Genre: Dystopia, New Adult

Release Date: March, 2014


Hurley Vance. It is a name spray painted on alley walls, and spoken in careful whispers. But to Lessers, it’s more than a name.

As a deranged Financial Minister and an arrogant President grapple for control over an obedient population, a violated Lesser underclass can only wait and see which dictator triumphs. 22-year-old Hurley Vance embarks on a plan to manipulate the warring Equals and liberate Evangeline Street, an imprisoned rebel leader idolized by her followers. Alongside a brutally rough friend named Sig Jaxson, Hurley leads a troublesome band of Lesser renegades. They are out to stoke a revolution, and defend a group of people who have been abused for far too long.

But the oppressors are everywhere. Roaming Watchers prowl the streets. District Speakers champion thoughts of forced equality. Filtering Houses cleanse literature, and Alteration Clinics punish the different. Unfortunately for Equal statesmen and their worshipping legions, Hurley Vance is determined to end their reign.

Xpresso Book Tours

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Book Tour Promo and Giveaway: Crystal Fire by Jordan Dane

Crystal Fire
Series: The Hunted #2
Author: Jordan Dane
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Publication Date: 11/26/13
Available From:


Because of what you are, the Believers will hunt you down.
A storm is brewing on the streets of LA, one that has intensified since a tragic and deadly confrontation claimed an innocent life.
While Gabriel Stewart trains his army of teen psychics to stop Alexander Reese--the obsessed leader of the Believers--the fanatical church becomes more bent on the annihilation of all Indigo and Crystal children. They're silencing the voices of the telepathic hive, one soul at a time, with frightening experiments cruelly executed on vulnerable minds.
When the Believers torture a mysterious homeless boy, Oliver Blue, they brainwash him into betraying his own. The boy becomes a deadly pawn to take Gabriel down. As the fires of chaos burn around him, Gabe is running out of time. He'll need to confront his past--and the man who made him--before the hope of peace for the future is silenced forever.

About the Author

Jordan Dane
Bestselling, critically-acclaimed author Jordan Dane’s gritty romantic thrillers are ripped from the headlines with vivid settings, intrigue, and dark humor. Publishers Weekly compared her intense novels to Lisa Jackson, Lisa Gardner, and Tami Hoag, naming her debut novel NO ONE HEARD HER SCREAM as Best Books of 2008. She also pens young-adult novels for Harlequin Teen. Formerly an energy sales manager, she now writes full time. Jordan and her husband share their Texas residence with two lucky rescue dogs.

Author Links

Cover Reveal: Donners of the Dead by Karina Halle

 photo CoverReveal.jpg

Infinity Unleashed cover

Donners of the Dead

Author: Karina Halle

Genre: Horror, Romance

Release Date: February 24th, 2014


***A Standalone Horror Romance coming February 2014***

Jake McGraw was unlike anyone I’d ever known. He was brash, rude, unapologetic and arrogant; chauvinistic, close-minded, and terribly stubborn. He was built like a tree, tall with a hard chest and wide shoulders and hands that looked like they could wrestle a bear. He was a cigar-chomping, scruffy-faced, beast of a man. I was pretty sure I hated him. And I know he hated me. But among the flesh-eating monsters in these snow-capped mountains, he was the only thing keeping me alive.

The year is 1851 and pioneers in search of California gold are still afraid to travel on the same route as the tragic Donner party did years before. When the last wagon train to go into the Sierra Nevada mountains fails to arrive at their destination, Eve Smith, an 18-year old half-native girl with immense tracking skills is brought along with the search party, headed by an enigmatic former Texas Ranger, Jake McGraw.

What they find deep in the dangerous snow-covered terrain is a terrifying consequence of cannibalism, giving new meaning to the term “monster.” While the search party is slowly picked off, one by one, Eve must learn to trust Jake, who harbors more than a few secrets of his own, in order to survive and prevent the monstrosities from reaching civilization.

***This is NOT New Adult***

About the Author

Barebque and Blue Jeans

The daughter of a Norwegian Viking and a Finnish Moomin, Karina Halle grew up in Vancouver, Canada with trolls and eternal darkness on the brain. This soon turned into a love of all things that go bump in the night and a rather sadistic appreciation for freaking people out. Like many of the flawed characters she writes, Karina never knew where to find herself and has dabbled in acting, make-up artistry, film production, screenwriting, photography, travel writing and music journalism. She eventually found herself in the pages of the very novels she wrote (if only she had looked there to begin with).

Karina holds a screenwriting degree from Vancouver Film School and a Bachelor of Journalism from TRU. Her travel writing, music reviews/interviews and photography have appeared in publications such as Consequence of Sound, Mxdwn and GoNomad Travel Guides. She currently lives on an island on the coast of British Columbia where she's preparing for the zombie apocalypse with her fiance and rescue pup.

Author Links

Book Blitz: Dragon Craving by Livia Olteano

Dragon Craving

Series: Otherworlds Summons #2

Author: Livia Olteano

Genre: New Adult, Paranormal Romance

Publication Date: Late November 2013

Available From:


The world holds few secrets for Oracle Elana Anderson, or as her fans know her, Ela Deville. Successful author of paranormal romance, Ela, has a secret: not all her paranormal characters are quite that fictional. She hardly expected she’d trigger a chain of events that might bring about the end of the world via a pesky dragon. Rendered blind to visions of him, Ela’s only way to save her world is to keep the dragon close…very close.

Obitus, the only awake dragon in the Otherworlds, is determined to get back the magic that was stolen from him and secure his position for a good thousand years. Becoming Akai’s new guardian after getting rid of the current one is the best way to it. But that means getting Ela on his side. He’ll bargain and maneuver his way there if he has to, but ends up tormented by the desire to have her for real.

In a game of deals, half-truths and irresistible cravings, does one heart have to break in order for the other to save the world?


I sat back on Karla’s couch, my ankle dangling over my other leg’s knee. The place looked strange, all the objects crowding the already tiny space. But then again my idea of a cozy home was a large cave with enough room for me to roll around in my dragon form. Humans were small creatures. In fact, everything in Akai was small and cramped. But fun.

The weres leader paced, hands clasped at his back. He was fun too. Jeremy Hays was a lanky thing with bright red hair that stood out like antennas. He had piercing green eyes and the nasty habit of biting the inside of his cheek. I liked that worried look about him. I liked the fear that radiated from him too. He made a considerable effort to cover the fact that he was looking at anything but me. A couple of times, his gaze came close to meeting mine. Well, reasonably close. I think the progress froze somewhere around the tip of my nose.

“What’s taking the gargoyle so long?” he muttered.

I shrugged. “Sharpening the knife for dinner.”

The werecat flinched. “That’s dragon humor, right?”

I chuckled. “Oh yes, we’re funny like that. Dragons, you know? Never a dull moment.”

The piercing green eyes finally focused on me and Jeremy smiled. He looked very cat-like right then. I’d first seen him in his cat form–cats were lovely creatures. Tiny as a dot but so resourceful and agile. I liked cats. I was still iffy about Jeremy though.

“So tell me, what do you get out of it?” he asked eyeing his nails.

I held up a hand. “We’ll discuss it when Kann is here. I don’t like repeating myself.”

Jeremy smiled and nodded, resuming his pacing about. Maybe it was a cat thing, not being able to stand still when they were nervous.

About the Author

Livia Oteano

Livia Olteano is a loud and proud coffee addict, lover of all things beautiful and incurable romantic.

She believes stories are the best kind of magic there is. And life would be horrible without magic. Her hobbies include losing herself in the minds and souls of characters, giving up countless nights of sleep to get to know said characters, and trying to introduce them to the world. Sometimes they appreciate her efforts. The process would probably go quicker if they'd bring her a cup of coffee now and then when stopping by. Characters--what can you do, right?

Stop by or the blog,, for the latest news and rants of glory.

Author Links

Xpresso Book Tours